Et voici la créatrice du monstre !

Notre nouvelle vidéo issue du voyage de l’équipe de Bethesda Underground à Tokyo permet de mieux connaître Ikumi Nakamura, l’illustratrice principale de The Evil Within.

En plus de créer les créatures les plus terrifiantes de The Evil Within, Ikumi est aussi à l’initiative de la BD “The Real Tango”, visible sur la page d’accueil du studio. S’inspirant de cette BD, elle nous a offert une incroyable illustration regroupant les personnages des plus grands jeux Bethesda. Sans oublier Pete !

beth_art_A

Bethesda Underground – Horriblement bon

Achetez-vous de bonnes enceintes ou un casque de qualité, car The Evil Within (le grand retour au Survival Horror de Shinji Mikami, le créateur de la saga Resident Evil) a soigné le bruit des gouttes de sang, des cerveaux gluants et des hurlements glaçants.

Mais vous ignorez sans doute comment ces bruits sont conçus. Ces bruitages à vous retourner l’estomac sont en réalité issus de ce que vous pourriez trouver dans votre assiette à la cantine. Lors d’une récente visite chez Tango Gameworks, l’équipe de design sonore a envoyé l’équipe Bethesda Underground (dont je fais partie) à la recherche d’ingrédients à même d’engendrer les sons dégoutants du jeu.

Le sound designer Mashahiro Izumi nous avait juste demandé d’acheter du melon et de la viande hachée, mais nous nous sommes amusés à lui rapporter des ingrédients surprise : des nouilles, des shamallows, des chips…

Le résultat ? L’expérience est presque aussi terrifiante que le jeu lui-même. Bien versé dans le domaine, Izumi-san s’est jeté sur la nourriture avec la même ténacité que certains des adversaires les plus coriaces du jeu.
The Evil Within sortira en Amérique du Nord et en Europe le mardi 14 octobre et le 16 octobre en Australie/Nouvelle-Zélande. Précommandez le jeu dès aujourd’hui pour accéder à The Fighting Chance Pack.

Pour plus de détails, rendez-vous sur theevilwithin.com/fr-fr/preorder

Bethesda Underground présente : The Evil Within – L’Américain

Pour vous faire patienter avant la sortie imminente de “The Evil Within”, découvrez nos portraits des développeurs de Tango Gameworks, les créateurs du survival/horror qui signe le retour de Shinji Mikami.

Faites la connaissance de John Johanas, alias l’Américain, level designer chez Tango Gameworks.

Pour plus de vidéos signées Bethesda Underground, retrouvez notre playlist maison ici .

Bethesda Underground : Portraits de développeurs – Tommy Tordsson Björk de MachineGames

En complément de la nouvelle vidéo de gameplay de Wolfenstein, l’équipe de Bethesda Underground est heureuse de vous présenter le tout dernier épisode de ses “Portraits de développeurs”. Cette fois-ci, nous nous attardons sur l’une des têtes pensantes de MachineGames, qui a d’ailleurs directement contribué à la séquence du train : le concepteur narratif Tommy Tordsson Björk.

Regardez la vidéo ci-dessus et dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.

Bethesda Underground – The Evil Within : Le réfrigérateur

Bethesda Underground a récemment rendu visite à Tango Gameworks, les développeurs du jeu de survie/horreur The Evil Within, prévu pour l’année prochaine. Pour fêter les vacances, nous avons préparé une petite vidéo tournée dans leurs locaux.

Venez voir d’autres vidéos de Bethesda Underground à propos de The Evil Within en 2014. Joyeuse fête d’Halloween !

Bethesda Underground – Torvenius !

Dans notre nouveau Bethesda Underground, nous vous présentons Axel Torvenius, l’artiste conceptuel senior de MachineGames.

La vidéo est divisée en deux parties. Dans la première, nous avons interrogé Axel sur son travail au sein de MachineGames et ses illustrations pour Wolfenstein: The New Order.

Dans la seconde moitié de la vidéo, il nous fait une démonstration de speed painting, un exercice quotidien pour se préparer mentalement à sa journée de travail en passant 15 à 20 minutes sur une nouvelle illustration.

Dans les semaines et mois qui viennent, nous partagerons avec vous d’autres vidéos Bethesda Underground issues de notre séjour chez MachineGames. Si vous avez manqué l’une des vidéos précédentes, consultez notre playlist sur la chaîne YouTube officielle de Bethesda.

À la découverte d’Uppsala : visite guidée de MachineGames

Afin d’échapper à la caméra et à l’incursion de Bethesda Underground dans ses bureaux suédois d’Uppsala, l’équipe de MachineGames nous a préparé une visite culturelle de la ville.

Parviendrons-nous à filmer ce que nous voulons ou allons-nous devoir rentrer chez nous penauds, sans snacks ni papiers peints originaux ?

The Evil Within – Delicious Evil (Bethesda Underground)

Dripping blood, gooey brains, and terrifying cries of the Haunted. When playing The Evil Within – Resident Evil creator Shinji Mikami’s return to survival horror – you can expect plenty of gruesome sounds that beg to be played with surround speakers or noise -cancelling headphones.

What you wouldn’t expect is how these sounds are engineered. Stomach-turning noises that could make squeamish players lose their lunch are, actually, created by the very foods you might eat during lunch. On a recent trip to Tango Gameworks, the sound team had the Bethesda Underground team (myself included) track down items to create heinous sound effects for the game.

With a short grocery list of cantaloupe and raw beef from sound designer Mashahiro Izumi, we decided to have some fun and surprise him with additional items to throw into the mix.: noodles, marshmallows, potato chips, and more.

The results? The experience was nearly as terrifying as the game itself. Well versed in the arena of Foley work, Izumi-san assaulted the foods we provided with the same tenacity as some of the game’s most challenging opponents.

The Evil Within releases in North America and Europe on Tuesday, October 14th and on October 16th in Australia/New Zealand. Pre-ordering the game today allows you to gain access to the Fighting Chance Pack.

For more details, visit www.theevilwithin.com/preorder

Bethesda Underground Presents: The Evil Within – The American

As we draw nearer to “The Evil Within’s” release date (October 14 in North America, October 17th in Europe), we’re giving you a closer look at the names and faces of Tango Gameworks — the developers behind Shinji Mikami’s return to survival horror. These videos come from a recent trip to Tango’s office located in Tokyo, Japan.

Meet Tango Gameworks’ Level Designer, John Johanas – AKA ‘The American’.

For more Bethesda Underground videos, check out playlist here.

Bethesda Underground – QuakeCon Volunteers

As the old saying goes: “It takes a Village”. That’s certainly the case when it comes to volunteers for QuakeCon. In a new video from the Bethesda Underground team, meet three QuakeCon volunteers and find out what brings them back to QuakeCon every year.

Want to be one of the villagers that makes QuakeCon so awesome? Be sure to visit the BYOC volunteer desk at this year’s show.

Bethesda Underground: Know Your Devs – MachineGames’ Tommy Tordsson Björk

With our newly-released Wolfenstein gameplay video, the Bethesda Underground team is happy to share our newest “Know Your Devs” profile. This time around, we highlight one of MachineGames’ leads that helped make the game’s train sequence happen — narrative designer Tommy Tordsson Björk.

Watch the video above and let us know what you think. For more Bethesda Underground videos, visit our YouTube playlist.

Exploring Wolfenstein: The New Order – On a Train to Berlin

Today on our official Bethesda YouTube channel we’ve released an extended scene from Wolfenstein: The Order. Praised by press for its unique storytelling, the early-chapter sequence centers around B.J. Blazkowicz having an unexpected run in with one of Wolfenstein’s most cunning villains, Frau Engel.

As we move closer to Wolfenstein’s release date (May 20th for North America & May 23rd for Europe), be on the lookout for new gameplay footage.

Enjoy!

Bethesda Underground – Torvenius!

In our newest Bethesda Underground Video, we feature MachineGames’ senior concept artist, Axel Torvenius.

The video is broken out into two parts. First, we interviewed Axel to learn more about working at Machinegames and creating concept art for Wolfenstein: The New Order.

In the second half of the video, he demonstrates his daily routine of speedpainting — his method of mentally preparing for the work day by spending 15-20 minutes to create a concept image from scratch.

In the coming weeks and months, we’ll be sharing more Bethesda Underground videos from our trip to MachineGames. If you’ve missed any of the previous videos, check out our playlist on the official Bethesda YouTube Channel.

Down and Around Uppsala: A Machine Games Tour

In a rush to get Bethesda Underground out of their office and avoid the camera, MachineGames (the devs behind Wolfenstein: The New Order) sent us on a quest to find “culture” in the quiet town of Uppsala, Sweden.

Will we succeed or will we return back to the office in defeat, licking our wounds, hungry and in search of candies and amazing wallpapers?

Bethesda Underground: Know Your Devs – MachineGames’ Jerk Gustafsson

Today we kick off our series of Bethesda Underground videos from our recent trip to Machinegames HQ. Up first, we meet one of the principal founders of MachineGames, executive producer/managing director, Jerk Gustafsson (pronounced Yerk).

In the video (it’s not a dev diary), Jerk discusses working on Wolfenstein, how he got started in the industry, and what he almost got instead of his first computer.