Bethesda Underground – Schrecklich lecker

Tropfendes Blut, klebrige Hirnmasse und grauenhafte Schreie der Ruhelosen. Wenn Sie The Evil Within spielen – das neueste Survival Horror Meisterwerk des Resident Evil-Schöpfers Shinji Mikami – erwarten Sie jede Menge grausige Geräusche, die darum betteln, mit Surround-Lautsprechern oder geräuschreduzierenden Kopfhörern abgespielt zu werden.

Aber Sie werden überrascht sein, wie diese Geräusche erzeugt werden. Geräusche, die einem den Magen umdrehen und empfindliche Spieler dazu bringen können, sich ihr Mittagessen noch mal durch den Kopf gehen zu lassen, werden mithilfe genau der Lebensmittel erzeugt, die Sie so zum Mittag verzehren. Kürzlich bei einem Besuch des Teams von Bethesda Underground bei Tango Gameworks haben die Sound Designer uns losgeschickt, um ein paar Sachen zu besorgen, mit denen sich möglichst eklige Soundeffekte für das Spiel erzeugen lassen.

Auf der kurzen Einkaufsliste von Mashahiro Izumi stand unter anderem Zuckermelone und Rindfleisch, doch wir zogen entschlossen los, ihn mit ein paar weiteren Köstlichkeiten zu überraschen: Nudeln, Marshmallows, Kartoffelchips und mehr.

Das Ergebnis? Beinahe so grauenerregend wie das Spiel selbst. Als exzellenter Geräuschemacher nahm Izumi-san sich die Lebensmittel genauso gnadenlos zur Brust wie die härtesten Gegner im Spiel.
The Evil Within wird am Dienstag, den 14. Oktober, in Nordamerika und Europa sowie am 16. Oktober in Australien/Neuseeland veröffentlicht. Wenn Sie das Spiel heute vorbestellen, erhalten Sie Zugriff auf das “The Fighting Chance Pack”.

Weitere Informationen unter http://theevilwithin.com/de-de/preorder.

Bethesda Underground präsentiert: The Evil Within – Der Amerikaner

Während die Veröffentlichung von “The Evil Within” immer näher rückt, möchten wir Ihnen die Namen und Gesichter von Tango Gameworks vorstellen – den Entwicklern von Shinji Mikamis neuestem Meisterwerk des Survival Horrors.

Lernen Sie John Johanas alias “Der Amerikaner” kennen, den Level Designer von Tango Gameworks.

Weitere Videos von Bethesda Underground finden Sie hier.

Bethesda Underground: Entwickler-Talk – Tommy Tordsson Björk von MachineGames

Zusammen mit unserem neu veröffentlichten Gameplay-Video freut sich das Team von Bethesda Underground, den neuesten Entwickler-Talk zu präsentieren. Dieses Mal möchten wir Ihnen einen der entscheidenden Köpfe bei MachineGames vorstellen, der an der Zugsequenz des Spiels mitgewirkt hat: Narrative Designer Tommy Tordsson Björk.

Sehen Sie sich das obige Video an und sagen Sie uns mit, wie Sie es finden.

Bethesda Underground – The Evil Within: Der Kühlschrank

Bethesda Underground stattete Tango Gameworks, den Entwicklern des im nächsten Jahr erscheinenden Survival-Horror-Spiels The Evil Within, vor Kurzem einen Besuch ab. Zur Feier des Tages haben wir ein kurzes Video aus dem Studio zusammengestellt.

Weitere Videos von Bethesda Underground zu The Evil Within folgen 2014. Happy Halloween!

Bethesda Underground – Torvenius!

Im neuesten Bethesda Underground stellen wir Ihnen Axel Torvenius vor, den Senior Concept Artist von MachineGames.

In dem Video zeigt er uns die tägliche Speedpainting-Übung, mit der er sich auf seinen Arbeitstag einstimmt, indem er in 15 bis 20 Minuten aus dem Nichts ein Konzeptbild erstellt.

Schauen Sie regelmäßig vorbei für weitere Bethesda-Underground-Videos über MachineGames.

In den kommenden Wochen und Monaten werden wir noch mehr Bethesda-Underground-Videos von unserem Besuch bei MachineGames veröffentlichen.

Quer durch Uppsala: Eine MachineGames-Tour

Um das Team von Bethesda Underground aus ihrem Büro zu locken und der Kamera zu entgehen, hat MachineGames uns losgeschickt, damit wir durch das ruhige schwedische Städtchen Uppsala ziehen und nach kulturellen Spuren suchen.

Werden wir erfolgreich sein oder geschlagen zurückkehren und unsere Wunden lecken – hungrig und auf der Suche nach etwas Süßem und fantastischen Tapeten?

Meet the Team: Bethesda Underground reist zu MachineGames

Im November 2010 gaben wir die Gründung unseres schwedischen Entwicklungsstudios MachineGames bekannt, das sich zu großen Teilen aus dem ursprünglichen Team der Starbreeze Studios zusammensetzt. Diese Woche wurde ihr erstes Projekt enthüllt – Wolfenstein: The New Order.

Unser Video-Team mit Sal Goldenberg und Matt Grandstaff verbrachte kürzlich eine Woche im Studio in Uppsala um mehr über die talentierten Männer und Frauen zu erfahren, die bei Machinegames arbeiten.

Im Laufe der nächsten Monate zeigen wir hier immer wieder neue Eindrücke, die die beiden auf ihrer Tour gesammelt haben. Heute gibt es dazu bereits einen ersten Spot.

The Evil Within – Delicious Evil (Bethesda Underground)

Dripping blood, gooey brains, and terrifying cries of the Haunted. When playing The Evil Within – Resident Evil creator Shinji Mikami’s return to survival horror – you can expect plenty of gruesome sounds that beg to be played with surround speakers or noise -cancelling headphones.

What you wouldn’t expect is how these sounds are engineered. Stomach-turning noises that could make squeamish players lose their lunch are, actually, created by the very foods you might eat during lunch. On a recent trip to Tango Gameworks, the sound team had the Bethesda Underground team (myself included) track down items to create heinous sound effects for the game.

With a short grocery list of cantaloupe and raw beef from sound designer Mashahiro Izumi, we decided to have some fun and surprise him with additional items to throw into the mix.: noodles, marshmallows, potato chips, and more.

The results? The experience was nearly as terrifying as the game itself. Well versed in the arena of Foley work, Izumi-san assaulted the foods we provided with the same tenacity as some of the game’s most challenging opponents.

The Evil Within releases in North America and Europe on Tuesday, October 14th and on October 16th in Australia/New Zealand. Pre-ordering the game today allows you to gain access to the Fighting Chance Pack.

For more details, visit www.theevilwithin.com/preorder

Bethesda Underground Presents: The Evil Within – The American

As we draw nearer to “The Evil Within’s” release date (October 14 in North America, October 17th in Europe), we’re giving you a closer look at the names and faces of Tango Gameworks — the developers behind Shinji Mikami’s return to survival horror. These videos come from a recent trip to Tango’s office located in Tokyo, Japan.

Meet Tango Gameworks’ Level Designer, John Johanas – AKA ‘The American’.

For more Bethesda Underground videos, check out playlist here.

Bethesda Underground – QuakeCon Volunteers

As the old saying goes: “It takes a Village”. That’s certainly the case when it comes to volunteers for QuakeCon. In a new video from the Bethesda Underground team, meet three QuakeCon volunteers and find out what brings them back to QuakeCon every year.

Want to be one of the villagers that makes QuakeCon so awesome? Be sure to visit the BYOC volunteer desk at this year’s show.

Bethesda Underground: Know Your Devs – MachineGames’ Tommy Tordsson Björk

With our newly-released Wolfenstein gameplay video, the Bethesda Underground team is happy to share our newest “Know Your Devs” profile. This time around, we highlight one of MachineGames’ leads that helped make the game’s train sequence happen — narrative designer Tommy Tordsson Björk.

Watch the video above and let us know what you think. For more Bethesda Underground videos, visit our YouTube playlist.

Exploring Wolfenstein: The New Order – On a Train to Berlin

Today on our official Bethesda YouTube channel we’ve released an extended scene from Wolfenstein: The Order. Praised by press for its unique storytelling, the early-chapter sequence centers around B.J. Blazkowicz having an unexpected run in with one of Wolfenstein’s most cunning villains, Frau Engel.

As we move closer to Wolfenstein’s release date (May 20th for North America & May 23rd for Europe), be on the lookout for new gameplay footage.

Enjoy!

Bethesda Underground – Torvenius!

In our newest Bethesda Underground Video, we feature MachineGames’ senior concept artist, Axel Torvenius.

The video is broken out into two parts. First, we interviewed Axel to learn more about working at Machinegames and creating concept art for Wolfenstein: The New Order.

In the second half of the video, he demonstrates his daily routine of speedpainting — his method of mentally preparing for the work day by spending 15-20 minutes to create a concept image from scratch.

In the coming weeks and months, we’ll be sharing more Bethesda Underground videos from our trip to MachineGames. If you’ve missed any of the previous videos, check out our playlist on the official Bethesda YouTube Channel.

Down and Around Uppsala: A Machine Games Tour

In a rush to get Bethesda Underground out of their office and avoid the camera, MachineGames (the devs behind Wolfenstein: The New Order) sent us on a quest to find “culture” in the quiet town of Uppsala, Sweden.

Will we succeed or will we return back to the office in defeat, licking our wounds, hungry and in search of candies and amazing wallpapers?

Bethesda Underground: Know Your Devs – MachineGames’ Jerk Gustafsson

Today we kick off our series of Bethesda Underground videos from our recent trip to Machinegames HQ. Up first, we meet one of the principal founders of MachineGames, executive producer/managing director, Jerk Gustafsson (pronounced Yerk).

In the video (it’s not a dev diary), Jerk discusses working on Wolfenstein, how he got started in the industry, and what he almost got instead of his first computer.